Fallows and Fires

Hey guys! Celeste, here.
I’ve been working really hard on making a real copy of Sailing Le Cirque…. by completely ignoring it.

I used to berate myself for going through these periods, but now I understand that this is part of my process. It’s like leaving a plot fallow for one season. Do it, and the next season is bountiful. Skip it, and watch the harvest deteriorate.

The other reason I’m leaving it alone is because I’m on fire with another project, the series that I outlined months ago. I’ve even written the first page. The first page guys!

This is a big deal for me. I know every writer works differently, but for me, it goes something like this:

Premise

Character building

Research

Outline

More character builiding

Dabble in scenes at my whim

Ignore it

More research

More dabbling

First page!

Obsession to the end

So you see why I’m so excited. But don’t worry about SLC, it’s more of a craft project at this point, so it will get air time when I need a mental break from my wordy world.
Plus, I read it to aloud to my daughter on Saturday (reading aloud is the ultimate test for editing) and it felt long and laggy in some spots. She loved the snack man, so I’m glad I added it back in, but some other lines might will have to go.
Since the pages will be handmade, I’m not trying to make unnecessary pages so I will be deciding what lines can go based on two criteria.

1. Does it interfere with the pace of the story? Will it bore or lose a group of children during storytime? It goes.

2. Will it be hard for me create the illustration for this line? Will the materials for this illustration be too expensive, bulky or complicated? This isn’t necessarily a deal breaker.
It will go back to the drawing board first. Can I work with a different material? Can I interpret the scene in a different way? Or can it join another line that’s already illustrated? If it still refuses to cooperate, then sorry, buddy, we tried.
When I make more progress on either book, I will be back with another post.

For now, I recommend indulging in a snack platter and The Goonies, pronto.
image

This was all my daughter’s idea.

“Mommy would you like to join us for The Goonies? Not because it’s spooky.”

“Oh yeah? That sounds good.” I go into the kitchen thinking of bringing a snack and she says, “And I was thinking that mushroom cheese with crackers?”

Kid has mind-fi. Or she’s my clone.
Probably both.

Leave a Reply

