Sailing Le Cirque Gets Some More Work

I was reading over Sailing Le Cirque the other night and this line caught my eye.

The trunks, the cages, the trainers, the stages

According to my own research, there aren’t any animals on Le Cirque. So why would cages and trainers be exiting the ship? Exactly.

The line had to go.

But Noooo!!!!!!!

I loved this line, so instead of trying to figure something out, I shut the computer and tried to put it out of my mind. I know from watching Inside Out the other day that the line must have been dragged into my subconscious, because, “that’s where they take the trouble makers.”

After two days of supposedly not thinking about it, I was in that deliciously hazy place just before sleep, when this line swam to mind and I thought

I really like it because it breaks up the a/b rhyme scheme.

Eyes still shut, but the haze lifted.

Yeah, and it’s similar to dance/prance and draft/waft.

Eyes popped open. Notebook did too.

Scrawled the line across the page. Added a few words from a dead line on top

stands/band
The trunks, the cages, the trainers, the stages

Fiddled and sighed and scrunched up my eyes, then quickly merged them to form a new line (yeah I know it rhymes, sorry, once I get going…).

The trunks, the stands, the dancers, the band

I thought man, that was easy, what was I so afraid of? and I shut off the light.

Thanks, subconscious. Good lookin’ out.

2 thoughts on “Sailing Le Cirque Gets Some More Work

Leave a Reply

