Deleted Lines and Other Things

Hey, I’m back. It’s been a crazy good week. My best friend of 15 years (!) came to visit. I haven’t seen her in years, so it was good to catch up, even though we email and talk and text fairly regularly. I feel like you can just get into deeper and more meaningful conversation in person, you know?

image
Deleting is not optional

So I thought I would share a few things that didn’t make it into Sailing Le Cirque. Like I mentioned in this post, I find the process behind a story really interesting, and that is why I decided to share

Deleted Lines

Though every line was changed, many, many times, there were a few that were cut out completely. This set

Come one, come all, all ages delight

In the fun and fancy of this one magic night

because it was too cliche.

And these

Caramel corn in paper cones

Funnel cakes you can’t eat alone

Turkey legs roasted on the bone

because after doing research, these foods would be hard to store and serve from a ship, even if its a magical one filled with circus folk.

And Other Things

The other things I refer to here are the animals. Le Cirque carries only human performers. In early drafts, I planned to have animals as part of the show, but after doing research, I did away with the whole concept. Between animal cruelty issues and the impracticality of having animals living on a boat, it just made more sense. And, this decision gave way to my favorite line

Then they dance, they prance, pull tricks, entrance,

Make fire burn, stand on their hands

so it was a good choice.

Check out this post if you want to read a little more about the cutting process of this story. And to read all about Sailing Le Cirque, check out these 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 posts. The next (and possibly final) post about Sailing Le Cirque will be to share any new sketches I come up with.

But before I go I wanted to share this Florida weather report.

image
All Hail Summer

Hail.
image

Yes, Hail.
image

Have a happy summer night!

One thought on “Deleted Lines and Other Things

Leave a Reply

